Aardvark

Hi guys!

This is my first post ever! I’m not sure yet if I’ll be adding profiles by alphabetical order or whether I should create them randomly. So, you’ll just have to bear with me. I will also create a file at some point, which explains the layout of the PDF animal profiles and I will also create a glossary of words that may be a bit confusing to some. I should know. I was the one confused to begin with.

But hey, moving on swiftly, I felt that it was a bit of a let down to start with an animal that, I felt, was a bit boring. However, I couldn’t have been more wrong. The aardvark is an amazing creature! I learnt that they are key to the ecosystem and ecology of Africa. This is because they work with a lot of other species of animal. Not physically, as they are very solitary creatures. I’ll give you an example. They provide shelter for many animals as, once they have burrowed one hole, they tend to move on after a small period of time, which gives other animals a chance of shelter. Aardvarks also have a talent for digging, as that is how they forage for insects (exclusively ants and termites). They can dig up to 60cm in 15 seconds. That’s incredible!

They are least concern on the conservation list, but that doesn’t mean they don’t have any threats. Their meat, claws, skin and teeth are all used by indigenous tribes throughout Africa, and are also shot accidentally by farmers, mistaking them for predators and scavengers such as Hyenas.

I hope you have enjoyed reading my first post and that you have learnt something interesting. Take a look at my PDF aardvark profile just below this…

aardvark-profile

Thank you for your time!

UPDATE!: I have now updated the aardvark profile so it is has as much information as I can find on these amazing creatures! Check out the PDF file and feel free to use them for educational purposes! I hope you find it interesting. 

aardvark-profile-1

Leave a Reply

